Review: The Sway by Ruby Knight

 TheSwayTitle: The Sway (Classified #1)
Author: Ruby Knight
Publisher: Penner Publishing
Release Date: 17th May 2016
Pages: [eBook]
Read it in: 4 Hours
Source: From Publisher through Netgalley

Synopsis: Goodreads

Her mission is to get close to him for inside information.

His mission is to kidnap her for a supernatural militant group.

Recruited in her teens for a life of espionage, Julia Caldwell, now 19, is theyoungest CIA agent on record. Her mission is simple: get close to Cole Thomas for intel on his father, a known and dangerous weapons dealer. As she grows closer to Cole, something is off. He might not be who she thinks he is. And worse, his mission will put an end to hers.

Always believing the government’s story that her purpose in life was to keep the world safe, Julia doesn’t know who to trust or who to believe. But now, THE SWAY has a different story—a different purpose for her—that goes well beyond all she ever imagined.

My Review:

I received this book for an honest review through Netgalley. I have to say that The Sway is one of the only books I’ve read that is about Secret Agents and secret missions and action WITH a supernatural element. But hell, I really enjoyed it. I didn’t however, expect to finish this story in a matter of hours!

The whole novel was so fast paced that I just didn’t want to put my kindle down. Unfortunately I think this was both a positive thing and a negative thing for The Sway. Good because damn, if a book hooks you in that fast and doesn’t let you go then it clearly has something going for it! And The Sway really did, I really enjoyed the Secret Agent missions, that was before we even met the supernatural element. And then when that was introduced I knew I wasn’t going to put this book down.

Bad however, because I feel like parts of the book was so incredibly rushed. At a few points during the novel I had to reread a small section to figure out whether I had missed something. Yet this was never the case, but it still felt like something was missing. And this was absolutely the reason as to why this book only received 4 stars. At the end of the novel, it felt like there wasn’t even a breath between one problem being solved and then another one being discovered.

I really liked all the characters though, and the special abilities that some of the possessed were interesting also! However I’m not sure that all of the characters that had the abilities actually needed them? Like it was just too perfect. But there we go.

I loved the central relationship also, however I was really sad when I realised that the cute relationship we’re introduced to at the start was just pushed to the side and ignored. So I’m torn between which guy I like the most! The one who has special abilities and romantic… Or the one we only met briefly and has a more warm sort of relationship. Perhaps more familial than romantic, but still I loved them.

Overall,

It’s a fast paced books with secret agents and missions and supernatural abilities! Though I had a few problems, I still enjoyed the story and would very much be interested in how Ruby Knight plans on the sequel turning out!

 

4Stars

Leave a Reply

