Review: The One by Kiera Cass – Audiobook

theoneTitle: The One (The Selection #3)
Author: Kiera Cass
Narrated by: Amy Rubinate
Publisher of Audiobook: Harper Audio
Release Date: 6th May 2014
Length: 7 Hours 25 Minutes
Listened to in August 2016

Synopsis: Goodreads

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

My Review:

The Book:

I loved this conclusion to the series. LOVED, it. I had my heart torn apart, glued back together and torn apart only to finally be glued back together again, one final time. There wasn’t a lack of drama within this novel, and yet America and Maxon still remained the same, and I loved how they tackled everything that was thrown with them.

My heart wasn’t only tied to America and Maxon in this novel, because just so much happened. I found myself very fond of a character I disliked during the first two books (no, not Aspen, I’m still not a fan of his, despite how bada** he was in the final book), and typically just as I grew to like her, drama happened and she got a story line I wasn’t expecting… And as with the theme of this review, it broke me…

Kiera really destroyed me with this novel! And yet, she still made me SO SO happy! This whole book was a rollar-coaster of emotion and despite my dislike for Aspen, and for the fact that America and Maxon sometimes wound me up, it was a great read and I do not regret my decision to binge read the series.

Unfortunately, there isn’t a lot I can talk about because I recognise that a lot of what I would discuss would be considered spoilers, which is killing me because I just want to talk about it with someone!

 


The Reading:

*bows*
Thank you, Amy. I enjoyed your narration of this series. A narrator can sometimes change your entire opinion of a book, and although I wished I had the physical books so I can read them at my own pace (because I wanted to read them much quicker than Amy was reading it, obviously), Amy was brilliant and I did enjoy listening to her!


Overall:

Normally, when I get to the end of a series, I’m sad because I want more. But here is the thing, this ending was perfect and because of that I am content with the series ending. There are two more books in the series, but they are about Maxon’s daughter… I’m going to listen to those as well, but I am considerably less excited for those books.

5Stars

“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” – Maxon

Leave a Reply

