Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass – Audiobook

theheirTitle: The Heir (The Selection #4)
Author: Kiera Cass
Narrated by: Brittany Pressley
Publisher of Audiobook: Harper Audio
Release Date: 7th May 2015
Length: 8 Hours 48 Minutes
Listened to in August 2016

Synopsis: Goodreads

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

My Review: There might be spoilers for The Selection book 1 – 3, for that I am sorry!

The Book:

I really did not like the Princess in this novel, the only problem for me was I really wanted more Maxon and America. I hadn’t actually realised this book was actually their daughters point of view, as opposed to America being pregnant… I know, weird. I should have read the synopsis on Goodreads really!

Let’s ignore my stupidity and talk about the actual book though. Princess Eadlyn was not someone I liked. Only because she appeared like a spoiled brat more than anything else! I liked the other characters we were introduced to, however. For example her family were great, and most of the boys in the selection were great as well. I hate myself for saying it, but I realised during the first half or so of the book, that I really didn’t like being on the other side of the selection: the side of royalty. BUT! This opinion did change! I actually did start to enjoy being on the royalty’s side, as it gave us a huge glimpse into the problems that Maxon would have experienced wanting America as his wife, which was against the wishes of his father.

So, my opinion of Eadlyn didn’t change throughout this novel, until the end of it. When really she was forced into changing. Bleh, whatever. What I really did enjoy was a selection of the boys brought in to become suitors for Eadlyn. I don’t want to mention names of the guys as I don’t want to sway anyone’s opinions to align with my own. But let’s say I really was voting for a select few of the boys.

Between the two Selections that we have been shown, Maxon’s and not Eadlyn’s, I must say I preferred Maxon’s. But then again, I think this is probably intentional, after all Eadlyn didn’t want to have a Selection – much like her mother didn’t actually want to enter the Selection in the first place! I felt like that was an interesting similarity! I did enjoy seeing a lot of characters from The Selection series as their older selves, although they weren’t all what I expected… I hope things are different in The Crown!

 


The Reading:

Hello, Brittany.

I don’t have much to say here! I liked you! Okay, I didn’t like your America and Maxon… or Mallory, but that was only because I was used to Amy’s narration. As for any and all new character, I really liked your narration. I felt like you had Eadlyn’s attitude down, as well as the attitude of a lot of the boys.

Thank you for your performance, I am sorry that I didn’t like the character you were portraying, as much as I liked America, but I did grow to like her! So thank you!


Overall:

Although I consider this a separate story to The Selection books, I am torn about it. I didn’t like Eadlyn (for most of the book) but I enjoyed the story and I did like finding out about the Selection from the royalty’s side! But if I look at it like a separate story, then I actually don’t mind it at all! I’m actually very excited to read The Crown!

4Stars

 

“I’m not sure anyone knows what they’re looking for until they find it.”

Leave a Reply

